Get Adobe Flash player
  • Loading

British Antarctic Survey Personnel

Professor Richard B. Horne is an Individual Merit Promotion Band 3 scientist at the BAS and Honorary Professor at the University of Sheffield. He is a former International Chair of Commission H of the International Union of Radio Science (2005-2008) and Vice President of the Royal Astronomical Society (1997-9). He has 29 years experience in space plasma physics, with more than 100 scientific papers in peer-reviewed journals, including 3 in Nature and 2 in Nature Phys., and a Thomson h index of 31. His main research interests are in wave-particle interactions, wave propagation and radiation belts. One of his key contributions was to show that electron acceleration by very low frequency waves is a major new process for forming the Van Allen radiation belts. He has also worked on the radiation belts of Jupiter, and electron precipitation into the atmosphere and links to climate. Over the last 10 years he led two multi-million pound programme grants consisting of 10-12 scientists. He is Co-I on the ESA Cluster and NASA RBSP satellite missions. He has also worked on hazard risk to satellites for Insurance companies and on a Space Weather Programme Study for the European Space Agency. He is also the project coordinator and scientific lead on the EC FP7 SPACECAST project (2011-2014).

Dr Sarah A. Glauert has a PhD in numerical analysis and more than 15 years research experience in developing large numerical codes for industrial and research applications. She has developed the PADIE code for calculating pitch angle and energy diffusion coefficients which have been used by several groups world-wide, and the BAS dynamic radiation belt model which is being used in the FP7 SPACECAST project. She will develop the PADIE code and use it to calculate new pitch angle and energy diffusion coefficients due to wave-particle interactions.